Notary Information

  1. Process for Swearing in as a Notary Public
  2. Swearing in Virtually

When you are ready to be sworn in as a notary public, bring your bond, power of attorney and photo ID to the Recorder of Deeds Office. You do not need an appointment and are welcome any time between 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. You will be sworn in and your bond will be recorded. The fee for this is $38.50. We accept cash, checks, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express. All checks must be made payable to the Montgomery County Recorder of Deeds.

After leaving our office, you must visit the Montgomery County Prothonotary in the Courthouse to have your signature registered. The fee is $3.50. The Prothonotary's Office accepts cash only.

If you have questions regarding this process, please feel free to contact us at 610-278-3289.

Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts

On October 26, 2017, the Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts took effect. All notaries should be aware of important changes in the law. Specific information about these changes can be found on the Pennsylvania Department of State Website: Changes include an education requirement for ALL notaries; examination by a registered Pennsylvania Department of State examination vendor; changes to the notary stamp; and many other changes. Notaries are encouraged to read more about these important changes at

Notary Public Forms